4th annual Pony Express Century ride

photo (8)

Yesterday I rode the Pony Express Century ride for the 4th time. I’ve ridden every year since the start, and I plan to ride it every year I live in Utah. The course was laid out as a loop for the first three years, but this year it was an out and back starting at Bank of American Fork in Saratoga Springs. We headed west on SR-73 to Five Mile Pass, then took the left fork toward Faust. That was a horrible stretch of road with potholes everywhere. We turned right and headed to Rush Valley, which was the turnaround spot. This should have been an easier course, but was not since a high wind kicked in about 10 miles in to the ride. We had a tailwind as we headed to Rush Valley, hitting 33 MPH. I was sure I was going to die when a red Ford pickup pulling a huge trailer tried to pass other riders and pulled in to our lane, heading straight for us. I immediately knew he wasn’t going to make it. When he realized it he slammed on his brakes and the trailer started to jack-knife. It seemed like the trailer defied the laws of physics and somehow stayed attached to the truck. The driver put 20 lives in danger so he could save a few seconds.

The blessing of a tailwind became the cursing of a headwind. I rode about 9-11 MPH during that stretch. Doctrine & Covenants 122:7 kept running through my mind: “…and if fierce winds become thine enemy…know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience and be for thy good.” It didn’t feel like it was for my good though. As soon as I got off that road I was able to ride with Mike and Gerard again, and we started to make good time. Especially from Five Mile Pass to Fairfield. Fairfield to Cedar Fort was a little slow, but I gained speed on the hill in to Cedar Fort and kept it until the end.

My stats:
5:58:22 ride time
100.07 miles
MPH: 16.7 & 35.4
Cadence: 88 & 153

I was hoping to have under five hours of ride time, but once the wind started I knew that wasn’t going to happen, so I shot for under six hours. DeLana picked me up and we went to Beto’s for a California burrito. It was fantastic. A cold bath, a show, then Insanity Pure Cardio & Cardio Abs. I have to get ready for the Tough Mudder in July.

Categories: Biking, Experiences | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

