Mountain bike lessons- an introduction

24

On Sunday we talked about teaching our children to work. I shared a story of when I was young, and my mom gave me the choice to do my chores, then go play with my friends, or play first and come home to work. I chose to play first, then was called home to work while the rest of my friends got to stay and play. I hated it, but it taught me to get my work done first when possible, and I will be able to enjoy my free time without working hanging over my head. I mentioned how I love to mountain bike because it is work and fun. I work and get my exercise when I am climbing hills or pushing hard on a flat section, and I have fun on the downhill sections. Cody Andreason made a comment about life lessons, which got me thinking this morning.  I took my dog and put down nine miles this morning.  It was a little cool, but the sun is coming up sooner, and I am anxious to ride like I did last year.  I decided not to listen to music, but to listen and see if God had anything to tell me.

I have been mountain biking since January 1994.  I rode my Trek 850 hardtail until I was able to find a Cannondale Gemini that I could afford on eBay about 8-9 years ago.  That is the bike I currently ride.  I used to do several sports, but I have cut down as we had kids, and circumstances have changed, but I have never stopped riding my bike.  It is my favorite sport.  I got a Specialized Roubaix road bike 2-3 years ago, and that has really helped my conditioning.  It’s fun to go fast and put down big miles on the road bike, but I won’t give up mountain biking for road biking.  Mountain biking puts me in the mountains, lets me see animals, and helps me connect with nature.  It’s the one sport I don’t want to stop.

As I rode this morning, waiting to see if God had anything to tell me, I started to think about how mountain biking is like life, and what lessons I have learned over the years.  I hadn’t put this in context before today, but I think it was a good exercise to remember what I’ve learned without knowing it.  I am going to take a lesson each day and explain how I learned it and how it applies to our lives.

Categories: Experiences, Life lessons | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mountain bike lessons- an introduction

  1. Reblogged this on Sykose and commented:
    @SykOse. Live. Extreme.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

