Inequality

I keep here the word “inequality” thrown around, and I’m sick of it. It’s used to describe gay marriage. Most states don’t recognize gay marriage, so homosexuals are not equal. Men and women have different strengths and weaknesses, so we aren’t equal. Women traditionally wear dresses or skirts to Church, and men wear pants, so we must be repressing women. They aren’t equal. God loves us equally, men and women, sinners and saints. The Atonement applies to each of us equally. But I think it stops there, or somewhere close. We aren’t equal. Men are typically stronger physically than women, with child birth being a glaring exception. I don’t think I could do that. Men tend to want to fix things. Women are naturally more caring and nurturing. That doesn’t mean we can’t learn those things, but there are tendencies for both sexes. When my kids get hurt I check for protruding bone or blood. I usually give them a hug, but if they are hurt and not injured we move on. My wife tends to be more concerned with their well-being. We both love our children, but we approach things differently based on our gender. My wife tends to be more spiritually open than I am. I really have to work at it. Except for protein shakes, she is better than me in the kitchen. I belong in the garage, but she does well there too. We have hung sheetrock together and she holds her own. I would rather fold laundry and she would rather mow the lawn, so that’s what we do. We are equal in our value, but we are not equal in our strengths, weaknesses and talents. It takes both of us to run our home and raise our children. We are equal in the sight of God, but not in the other ways I’ve described. And we don’t need to be. I believe this push for “equality” comes directly from Satan. He wanted us to be equal. He wanted us all to be saved. He wanted to take away our agency, or our law, and makes us all the same. Except for himself. For doing this great thing, for making us all equal, he wanted God’s glory and power. The fight continues, and it will only get worse. The screaming argument against righteousness will continue to be equality.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

