Leatherman PST & PST II

Before I moved to Utah I came to visit for the weekend.  I was in Provo visiting with my friend Jeff when he said he needed to borrow Bevan’s Leatherman to fix his shoe.  It was about 1994 and I didn’t know what a Leatherman was.  I hadn’t even heard the term before.  Once I saw one I was immediately impressed.  Add a 25 year warranty and I was beside myself.  Before I moved to Utah in January 1995, Kip bought me a Leatherman PST for Christmas. I still have it and I still love it.  I have since added the PST II, which has a serrated blade.  Both the PST and the PST II have since be retired, but they are the original models for me and I prefer them over current models.

Yesterday I used my PST II to cut thick zip ties on a memory foam bundles at Mattress Land.  I didn’t want to risk using a knife and potentially cutting the foam, so I inserted the pliers and used the wire cutters.  It worked very well.  I have recently started to carry my Leatherman with me again on a daily basis, and you just can’t beat the size and convenience of the tool.  In my opinion it is far superior to other brands.

I don’t remember how or where I got this, and I don’t think it is made anymore, but I love this ratchet kit that attaches to the PST and PST II.  It adjusts and locks in place at 45, 90, and 180 degree angles, and has the bit tips I need the most.  I also carry this with me everyday.


Leatherman makes a fantastic product with an outstanding warranty, and I highly recommend them.  They are one of my favorite things.

Categories: Cool things, Favorite things | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

