Things I used to believe revisited

Eight days ago I posted a blog about things I used to believe.  I was obviously frustrated and felt like my current trial was never going to end, and possibly get even worse.  I hate the glass of water analogy.  Is it half empty or half full?  I felt like I didn’t even have a glass, so who cares?  Now I want to explain how I felt about each of these thoughts when I started to read them, and how I feel now.

ASAP- Activity Solves All Problems.  I saw this in someone’s office.  This probably holds the weakest meaning of this group of thoughts, but I was hopeful.  I guess when we don’t know what to do we can look for ways to serve those around us.  That always helps to take the focus off our trials, even for a short time.
This too shall pass.  Everything will eventually pass, even if it is due to death.  It’s hard to feel like your trials will never end when you are in the middle of it, but they will end.  We can overcome all things, but it sure isn’t easy.  We just have to keep moving forward.
It’s never as bad as you think.  I think as humans we tend to magnify our emotions, thereby overriding our logic and common sense.  Phobias fall in to this category.  People are scared of things that are irrational.  I hate snakes, which is why I hold them.  People are afraid of heights because they think they will fall off the ladder and kill themselves.  This is not true.  I think it is important to do things that scare us, which is why I love to jump my mountain bike.
I choose my attitude.  This one is difficult for me.  See the glass explanation above.  I tend to be pessimistic naturally, so I really have to fight to overcome this one.  I work at it because I find that being positive makes me happier as a general rule.  It’s easy to be negative, but it decreases your quality of life, so it’s worth the effort for me to keep working at it.
The best is yet to come.  It is, even if I have to wait for the next life.
All in.  I think it is important to be fully committed to the things we do.  Fully committed to our spouses, children, our jobs, our health.  Giving 100%, win or lose, is the only way to be.  And don’t talk about mathematical impossibilities, like giving 110%.  That just lets everyone know you suck at math but you think you are smart.
Stand firm.  Hold your ground, after choosing sure footing.  Don’t sacrifice sure footing for a kill shot.  You will end up wet and cold.
ONE MORE ROUND.  Rocky Balboa was one of my favorite movie characters.  I saw Rocky III when I was 11, and I loved it.  It’s a classic story of rising too fast and falling even faster.  Though most people can’t really take a beating like Rocky, he had an indomitable will.  He kept moving forward.  He always had another round left in him.  I feel like that is how I have to approach difficulties.  I may have to take a rest between rounds, but I have to keep moving back to the center of the ring and be willing to take another hit.

This is how I really feel, even though it didn’t sound like it eight days ago.  Nothing has changed in the last week, other than finding potential answers, but I felt positive before that started to happen.  I’m not out of the woods yet, but as I look around I see 12 antelope and cool rain clouds.  God’s evidence.

Categories: Experiences | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

