Things I used to believe

Last year I came up with a list of positive phrases that I would read daily as part of my goal. At the time I believed these phrases, but as time has worn on I find that they don’t hold the same value as when I first started. Their power has eroded. Here are the phrases:

ASAP- Activity Solves All Problems.
This too shall pass.
It’s never as bad as you think.
I choose my attitude.
The best is yet to come.
All in.
Stand firm.
ONE MORE ROUND.

Let’s dissect these one by one.

ASAP- Activity Solves All Problems. Grinding gears and dropping a transmission is an activity.
This too shall pass. I don’t think my trials will pass any time soon. Maybe when I’m dead. Then it won’t matter anyway.
It’s never as bad as you think. It’s worse.
I choose my attitude. Attitude won’t change my current situation. I can be positive, but that won’t change what is happening.
The best is yet to come. It’s not. It’s not coming.
All in. You can win big or lose big when you go all in. Losing big is more likely. I know.
Stand firm. The classic struggle of an unstoppable force vs. an immovable object. The unstoppable force has won.
One more round. The deeper you go in the fight the more brain damage you take. That’s why boxing matches don’t go 15 rounds anymore. I watched the fight when Ray Mancini beat Duk Koo Kim in 1982. Duk Koo Kim died from brain injuries five days later. Boxing associations changed from 15 to 12 rounds after that fight. How many more rounds do you fight before you decide to stop getting hit in the head?

I want to believe these statements, but I realized that I have been glossing over them because they don’t hold the same meaning.  I guess positive affirmations don’t work if you don’t believe in them.  And the same goes with religion.

Categories: Experiences | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

