Favorite Android Apps- My Fitness Pal

I have been using the My Fitness Pal App on my Android phone since mid-December.  I have lost 14.4 pounds since then.  I have tried to track my phone intake in a log book, but I could never track the calories correctly, and I couldn’t tell how my exercise affected me.  Enter My Fitness Pal.  I was able to choose how quickly I wanted to lose weight, then track my food with a database of over 1.1 million foods.  I can enter my exercise and see how it changes my calories for the day.  I have spent an average of 60 minutes of cardio six days per week since I started using the App.  It has really helped to see how many calories I have throughout the day so I can adjust my eating accordingly.

If I had known I had 15 pounds to lose I would have done it years ago.  I am not a good judge of other peoples’ weight, but if I had 15 pounds to lose, most people I see are more overweight than I thought.  I have noticed a huge difference when I ride my Specialized Roubaix road bike because I am lighter and I have spent so much time on my trainer during the winter.  I can’t wait for the riding season to hit full swing.

Though I love this App, I wish I could make a few changes to it.  First, I wish I could break the snacks in to groups.  I usually eat 5-6 times a day, but the App doesn’t account for this.  It simply compiles the snacks in to one list for the day.  Second, I wish the App would save my data and start over when my weight goals change.  For example, when I started I decided I wanted to lose one pound per week.  The App set my calorie goal at about 1800 per day, which I followed until I lost the weight.  Then I changed my goal to lose 1.5 pounds per week.  On the second round it was about 1670 per day, so the App lowered my goal to 1670 calories for the whole time I was using the App, showing that I had no self control.  But I do, and I’ve lost almost 15 pounds.  In fairness, there may be a setting on the website, but I’ve only been there once.  The convenience of using an App on my phone over having to use a website is what makes the App so useful.  Even with these two shortcomings it is a great App and one of my favorite and most useful online tools.

Categories: Favorite Apps | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Favorite Android Apps- My Fitness Pal

  1. David and Melissa

    Online, you can add in snacks and name all your meals whatever you want. I have mine set to 6 meals, each happily named:-). As for the 2nd issue, I’m bugged by it, too. I haven’t found the fix for that. myfitnesspal.com!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

