The Fearless Mind

This week I read The Fearless Mind by Craig Manning.  I was so enthralled that I read it in two days.  That is pretty unusual for me and business books, but this book grabbed me from the start.  I took a Sports Psychology class at BYU thinking it would be right up my alley, but the class sucked.  The book was over 20 years old and the professor was the one I struggled with the most in the Psychology department.  Anyway, I have long been fascinated with momentum in sports.  It is very interesting to watch a team gain and lose momentum, especially in a fast sport like basketball.  The Fearless Mind used many sports analogies since Craig Manning was a professional tennis player at a young age, and head coach of the men’s and women’s teams at BYU.

The book gave me greater understanding of momentum, and I look forward to watching sports with that new understanding.  It taught me the power of thought, and I have used that in the last few days to push through the pain of exercise when I have been tired.  This is one book that I will be referencing throughout the years to keep the concepts at the forefront of my mind.

After reading the book I started making a list of all the things that have held me back.  Once I am done I will be burning the list in a ceremonial fashion in my backyard.  Then I will move forward with much speed and focus.

Categories: Experiences | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

