Muddy January ride

I went for a mountain bike ride with James Hoffman and Nate McArthur on a seemingly beautiful late-January Saturday.  The thermometer in the car said 30 F, so I thought the ground would be hard.  It was not.  We headed to the trails north of our sub-division because it tends to stay dry with the sun exposure.  We did have some dry sections, but most of the trail was mud or snow.  This is my front tire looking like a motorcycle tire.

This is my front chainring oozing mud.  My bike was covered in at least 15 pounds of mud.  The muddy rides don’t happen very often, and I was just glad to be out riding with James and Nate, so we took it in stride.  If you are familiar with bikes at all, you may have noticed something is wrong with this picture.

The mud was so bad that it broke my derailleur in half.  I rode for 45 minutes and five miles before this happen, so at least I got some time in the saddle.  I hiked for 30 minutes and 1.77 miles in the mud when James met with his freshly washed white truck to pick me up.  It could be worse.  It could be July with a broken derailleur, or it could have happened on Slickrock in Moab or the JEM trail in St. George where I would have to hike back much further.  James also noticed that I am missing a bolt where my shock mounts to the frame, so that could have caused problems.  I think I was actually jumping on my last ride with James and Mike Both without that bolt.  That could have been bad.  It’s been a mild winter so far, and I’m just glad I have been able to get out and ride.

Categories: Biking, Experiences | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

