A new skill?

Ryan and I went to the gun show on Saturday. We found some Tops knives blanks that we bought so we could attach our own micarta handles. Ryan made micarta with cloth material and fiberglass, so today we started on our knives. I used a black knife that I got from Uncle Sam’s this summer to practice on. We used Gorilla Glue to attach the micarta handles, then used my belt sander to grind down the excess material. This is how my black knife turned out.

This is my Tops knife in the bonding process. This knife is going to take more work because of the lines and grooves, but I’m excited to work on this one. I would love to design knife blades, and learning to make handles is a valuable skill.

Categories: Favorite things | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

