Goodbye my friend

I received a phone call at 12:08 pm today from Mike Both telling me that my friend Theron Nestripke had passed away this morning. I couldn’t believe it then, and I still can’t believe it. I was able to spend a few hours with Theron on Thursday night, and we had a nice visit. I feel like I did right by him. I was able to talk to several people that I had neglected for too long. Theron was one of my closest friends, and he had a great heart. He poured his heart in to the training classes at ETFC and he genuinely cared about people. We had so many good times pranking people on the night shift. We even held a few friendly sparing matches in the late hours when the calls died down. Theron struggled with pain issues for the 11 years that I knew him, and AJ pointed out that he isn’t in pain anymore. I know he is in a better place, but my heart aches for his wife and kids. His three kids are the ages of my three oldest, so it’s hitting home for me. It helped to talk to Mike, Patricia, Melissa and others. Mike and I went for a 90 minute bike ride to be away from things and talk about Theron. We did the same thing when I was laid off last year. I’ve had this Alter Bridge song going through my head all day, and it seems to fit. I don’t want to be haunted by the ghosts of days gone by. I need to make a greater effort to stay connected to my family and close friends.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

