The End of An Era & My New Suit

It’s very interesting how things happen. I lost my job at E*Trade on Thursday after working there for almost 10 years. In a way I didn’t see it coming, but I’ve also known a change was coming since July 2009. I just didn’t know what it was. On Tuesday I felt like there was something just outside my field of vision that I couldn’t identify. Now I know what it was. It shocked a lot of people I worked with and I was amazed at how many people reached out to me. I really liked my job, but I loved the people I worked with. I have great friends at E*Trade, and I hope to be able to keep in touch with all of them. E*Trade gave me a great severance package based on my time served, so we have time to figure things out.

I bought a blue suit with my E*Trade bonus, because I only had a brown suit. I felt like I needed a good suit for weddings, funerals and job interviews. A few weeks ago I went to Neldon Walters’ funeral in American Fork. Wednesday I wore it to Logan’s sealing. That’s pretty much the same as a wedding. And soon I will wear it to a job interview. Maybe I shouldn’t have bought the suit? Yeah right. Things happen for a reason, and this is no different. I believe that my next job will be one that I wouldn’t be able to find while at E*Trade. I haven’t actively looked for a job in over three years, and I had no reason to look now. One thing I know for sure is that I’m not driving this car. I see more clearly now why recent events have happened the way they did. We just paid off most of our debt and bought the Mazda Protege’. I wanted to hold on to that money, but now we have a reliable commuter car. It’s exciting to see how things are being revealed. This doesn’t always happen for me, so I think there are important things that I am supposed to learn. I wrote things on my 2K10 card that I wanted to focus on, like slowing down, listening and breathing. I think now I will learn to do that. Everything is going to be fine.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The End of An Era & My New Suit

  1. Serenity is a good place. Glad to hear you are taking this in stride.

  2. Smitty, you are right…things happen for a reason. Sounds like you are taking this in stride, and I'm confident you will land on your feet soon.Hang in there buddy and know things will work out for the better!Now we have more time to go mountain biking; Fruita, CO first weekend in May for the Fruita Fat Tire Festival…..you interested?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

