Garett’s wedding trip

We had a long weekend of driving to get to Garett’s wedding. Thankfully we were able to stop in Boise to see Erick and Tami and their toy store, Sam’s Toy Box. We went to Eagle and found the bike park, and I would have been in heaven, but I didn’t have my bike. It is a really big park with jump lines, dual slalom and a skills section. These two pictures are from the skill area.

We also went to Powell’s Sweet Shoppe, and they carry Brainwash. I used to drink this in California in 1994. It was the precursor to energy drinks. It has some interesting side effects.

Like this. It stains anything it touches.

All weekend I had been anticipating the seven foot gap jump on the Flintstone Trail in Eagle Mountain. I’ve watched Mike Both do it several times, but it was a mental block for me. I rolled the rock face, then crashed about 100 feet before the jump, hurting my knee and calf. My first thought was that I wouldn’t be able to do the jump, and I had crashed by sliding off the trail. I worked the stiffness out of my knee, and after two failed approaches I let go and took the jump. It happened so fast that I wasn’t able to pull up as I launched, and I landed front tire first. Thanks to a fantastic Marzocchi Bomber fork I rode it out without any problem. The approach to the jump happened so fast that I lost about a 20 foot section of the trail from my memory. I took the turn on the trail, and the next thing I knew I was in the air. Today I conquered the smoky monster.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

