Eight days later



I had my follow up appointment with Dr. Ritchie today. The nurse took out my blue stitches before Dr. Ritchie came in to discuss the extent of the damage to my shoulder. It was bad. It sounds like some things may not return to normal for close to a year. He tightened up one of the muscles to try to prevent further dislocations. I will have to work through that and stretch the muscle, but it’s better than the alternative. He doesn’t want me to do Karate for the rest of the year, but I think I can return to things that don’t put my shoulder at risk. I won’t rush that, but I want to get back at the end of the summer if I can. I should be able to return to teaching next week.

I only know what two of the pictures are. The top one with the metal device is Dr. Ritchie removing a piece of calcified cartilage that was floating around. The one with all the red is where they injected my platelets to try and help the area heal. Everything else is damage.

This is forcing me to use my left hand, which I never thought I could do. I shaved today for the second time. It takes much more time, but the end result is the same. I do pretty well with the mouse when I’m on the computer. I stopped taking the Percocet yesterday. The pain isn’t as bad as I expected, but I have a knot near my collar bone from hunching my shoulder to protect it. The Percocet was fine for the first five days, but Tuesday and Wednesday I was pretty nauseous, light headed and forgetful. Tuesday was definitely the worst and I ended up leaving work early so I could try to sleep it off. The three biggest things I will miss this summer is Karate, mountain biking and parkour.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

