2nd Dan

My 2nd Dan Black Belt test started last night and finished this morning. Last night we had to perform Bahsudai, Kon Kudai and my bo kata. Saya Gyi didn’t like the way the test was going last night. My shoulder popped out on the first high block less than three minutes in to the test. That really messed with my head. I expected my shoulder to pop during the fighting, but not when it did. During our first break DeLana told me to calm down and have fun with it. I felt like I did well on Kon Kudai, which was my most difficult kata. I was much more relaxed this morning. As it turned out I didn’t have any problems with my shoulder today. We went through most of the curriculum we did last night, then added sparring/grappling and bare knuckles fighting. I fought Eric Loveless twice and he owned me. He should have, since he is huge and a professional kick boxer. He outweighs me by over 100 pounds. The fighting emptied my tank, but I felt like I was able to finish strong. I have a nasty blister on my toe, a cut on my foot, a dead leg and several bruises, but it was worth it. This was probably the hardest thing I’ve done, both physically and mentally. I feel like I accomplished a great thing. After the Black Belt Panel spoke to us they allowed us to make remarks. I took the opportunity because I was overcome with emotion. I don’t have a lot of natural ability for the martial arts, but I continue to push forward and I don’t quit. That is my talent. After 18 stitches, three broken toes, several dislocated shoulders and a bad hip, I’ve made it to 2nd Dan. And I have no intention of slowing down. The world is full of quitters. I’m not one of them.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

