Never give up

When I was about 20 I was engaged in a difficult task with no sign of success. I was becoming discouraged and questioned how long I should continue without achieving any amount of success. I never answered my question. Fifteen years later I now have the answer. I probably had it before now, but recent events have brought it back in to view. You don’t give up. Like all things in life I will add my disclaimer. I worked for a financial services company years ago that resembled MLM. I worked very hard to make money there, but after two years I had nothing to show for it while all around me other people rolled in the cash. I made cold calls to 100 people a day for over a week. I exhausted my contact list. After two years my licenses expired. That was my exit sign. I was discouraged because I felt like I had been kicking against the pricks. I quit that, but I didn’t quit trying to build a better life for my family. Sometimes you just have to steer a new course. That is my only disclaimer. I’ve crashed on my bike over 30 times. I won’t quit. Three broken toes and 18 stitches from Karate and I won’t quit. This all came to bear when my son asked me to help him learn to ride his bike yesterday. We tried a few weeks ago and he didn’t quit get it. After a few crashes he wanted to quit. I told him he would learn to ride his bike or spend the day crashing. He crashed about 10 times before he took me seriously. After every crash I pointed out that he was giving up when he tried to turn and got scared. I emphasized the importance of persistence and we tried again. Then he got it. I couldn’t get him off the bike. He is still nervous about turning to the right and he needs help to start, but he can ride his bike. I explained to him that we don’t quit just because something is difficult or painful. Too many people in this world give up because things aren’t easy. The saddest part is when someone gives up on their dreams. I gave up on one dream. I didn’t think I would have a Corvette by the time I was 35, and it came out of nowhere because it became important to someone else. I was called out several times by that person and we made it happen. I don’t want to be like that again. I look forward to the time that I get a Corvette Z07. I will continue to work hard and push forward. Life will do its best to knock you down, so you get back up and hit back. Again and again until the fight is over. We don’t give up just because it’s the easy way out.
Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Never give up

  1. Hey, weren’t you over in PastaLand wearing the black tag when you were 20? I hope it wasn’t me that drove you to considering quitting! ;-)I found your words, echoing as they did Winston Churchill’s Never Surrender attitude, to be timely and inspiring. We’re been dealing with our teenager who had great success in competitive swimming in CA but now is struggling where we are now. She developed some of that “if I can’t be the best, why should I bother” mentality, and considered quitting to focus on other teenage activities. We encouraged her to not quit because she wasn’t doing as well as she had hoped but rather to work hard enough to be satisfied with her effort regardless of where she placed in races. It is a struggle for us all, not to give up on a goal when things get tough.My hat is off to you for working through discouragement. Keep it up, PT.

  2. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

