Almost Christmas


It’s been almost a month since my last blog and a lot has happened since then. We moved buildings at work. We went from half a floor to 3.5 floors next door. It’s so nice to have a real office. Speaking of the office, I watched my first full episode of The Office two nights ago. It was the rerun of the Christmas office party and it was hilarious. I think it’s time to jump aboard that train. Work has been crazy busy, so I am looking forward to having the next 10 days off. I need to get my head out of the vise.

I made oven handles for family and friends this year. Paul made those for the women in our family when I was a kid, so I can’t take credit for the idea. I bought a long piece of fir and cut it to size. I then used my circular saw to notch the front and side. I took my Dremel and sanded the notches and and some character to each handle. I made about 25 and I have handed most of them out. I gave them to Mom, Amy, Cari, Ashley, Elisa and Cindy last night. I gave one to some neighbors and Melissa, Amy, Rita and Liz and work. It gave me an excuse to play with my tools in my garage.

I broke my derailleur cable on my Gemini about three weeks ago. I was riding on the concrete barrier around the playground when my back tire slipped off and the derailleur hit the barrier. That is the first time I’ve damaged a derailleur in almost 14 years of riding. I want to switch over to a SRAM derailleur anyway, so this might be the time to do it.

I posted this picture of Washington, DC, because that is how it looks here right now. We’ve had quite a bit of snow already. I really miss DC. I wish I could go back there. I had wanted to go there since I was a teenager, but I had no idea that it would have affected me like that. It just feels different from most places I’ve been. Italy was like that. I would wake up in the morning and I could feel that something was different. I miss that place too. Hopefully I will get back to both of those places soon.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

